About Us:

Board of Directors

jbarkerJohn E. Barker
Audit Committee Chair & Independent Director

Mr. Barker is a finance professional with general management experience. Mr. Barker was Senior Vice President and Chief Financial Officer of Zenon Environmental Inc. from 2000 to 2006. He was responsible for managing the finance and information technology of over 35 subsidiary companies in 25 different countries. He led teams that raised over $140 million between 2002 and 2004, and assisted in the sale of Zenon Environmental Inc. to General Electric Company. He currently sits on the Board of Directors, and serves as Chair of the Compensation Committee, of Titan Medical Inc. a TSX listed company. Mr. Barker is a Fellow of the Chartered Professional Accountants of Canada (Fellow of the Certified Management Accountants). 



acartyDr. Arthur Carty
Independent Director

Dr. Carty is currently the Executive Director, Waterloo Institute for Nanotechnology. Prior to this appointment, Dr. Carty was the National Science Advisor to the Prime Minister and to the Government of Canada from 2004 to 2008. From 1994 to 2004, Dr. Carty served as the President of the National Research Council of Canada. Prior to this role, Dr. Carty spent two years at Memorial University and then 27 years at the University of Waterloo where he was successively professor of chemistry, director of the Guelph-Waterloo Center for Graduate Work in Chemistry, Chair for two terms and Dean of Research. Dr. Carty has 315 publications in peer reviewed journals and five patents to his credit. He is a former president of the Canadian Society for Chemistry, an honorary fellow of the Chemical Institute of Canada and a fellow of the Royal Society of Canada and the Fields Institute. Amongst his many awards are the Alcan Award and the Montreal Medal of the Chemical Institute of Canada, E.W.R Steacie Award of the Canadian Society for Chemistry, the Queen Elizabeth II Golden Jubilee Medal and the Taiwan National Science Council Professional Medal. He has been accorded fourteen honorary degrees from Canadian and foreign universities. Dr. Carty is an Officer of the Order of Canada and has also been honoured by France as Officier de l’Ordre National du Merite. Most recently he received the National Leader Award, Genome British Columbia in 2010, was elected an Honorary Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Engineering in 2009 and was awarded the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal in 2012. Currently, Dr. Carty is a Board member of DBL Cleantech Capital Inc., Board member of ArboraNano, the Business Led NCE, a Council member, Science and Technology in Society Forum (Japan), and a Member of the Advisory Board of Taiwan’s National Science Council. He is also Chair of the Council of Canadian Academies, Expert Panel on “the State of Science Culture in Canada”. Dr. Carty holds a Bachelor of Science, Chemistry and a Ph.D. (Inorganic Chemistry) from the University of Nottingham.


plucasPaul Lucas
Chairman of the Board of Directors & Independent Director

Mr. Lucas served as President and CEO of GlaxoSmithKline Canada from 1994 until 2012, where he was responsible for all pharmaceutical operations in Canada. During his time with GSK, he built the company into a national manufacturing leader, producing and shipping more than CAD $2 billion worth of products, representing approximately 25 per cent of the total Canadian pharmaceutical shipments. Previous to joining Glaxo Canada in 1986, he held progressive management positions at Eli Lilly Canada and McNeil Pharmaceutical. Mr. Lucas sits on the Board of Directors for the Ontario Genomic Institute, was Chairman and member of the Board of Directors for TM Bioscience, was on the Board of Directors of the Toronto Regional Research Alliance and is a member of the Principal's Advisory Council of the University of Toronto at Mississauga. He served in the past as Chairman of the Board of Directors of Canada's Research-Based Pharmaceutical Companies (Rx&D). He received his B.Sc. (Honours) in Biology and Chemistry from Queen's University, and obtained his Chartered Directors designation (CDir) from the Directors College, a joint venture of McMaster University and the Conference Board of Canada, in 2009.


Jeff MacDonald
Chief Executive Officer

Jeff MacDonald is Chief Executive Officer of EcoSynthetix. Prior to this role, Mr. MacDonald was the company’s Chief Operating Officer. Mr. MacDonald came to EcoSynthetix with more than 15 years of executive leadership experience in a variety of roles, including operations, business development, and marketing. He spent the majority of his career at Husky Injection Molding Systems, a leading manufacturer of equipment and services for the plastics industry, with more than $1 billion in annual sales. At Husky, Mr. MacDonald led the establishment of new businesses, introduced a number of new products to market and led key initiatives that had a transformational impact on overall business performance. Mr. MacDonald holds a Master of Business Administration degree from McMaster University and a Bachelor of Science degree from the University of Western Ontario.


jnodlandJeffrey Nodland
Independent Director

Mr. Nodland was appointed to the Board of Directors of EcoSynthetix as of January 1, 2016. Mr. Jeffrey Nodland joins EcoSynthetix as an independent board member. Mr. Nodland is President and CEO of KIK Custom Products, one of North America’s largest custom manufacturers of both national and retailer-branded consumer products, with annual sales of more than $2.0 billion. Mr. Nodland’s career spans more than 30 years in specialty chemicals and coatings manufacturing, serving in executive leadership positions at companies such as Valspar Corporation, Hexion Specialty Chemicals, Inc., Resolution Performance Products, and McWhorter Technologies, a specialty chemicals company acquired by Eastman Chemical. In addition, Mr. Nodland serves on the Board of Directors of MPM Holdings Inc. Previously, Mr. Nodland served as a member of the Board of Directors of California Products Corporation and Texas Petrochemicals Group.